This weekend I spend some time taking information from Virtual PC’s vhd-files. Why did I do that? For testing and development I have a lot of virtual machines. To have the option to fast create a new virtual machine, I often use differencing disks. But now I have the problem, that I cannot see, on which parent a disk depends on. So, I needed a tool, to have a look into the vhd-files. Microsoft has published the internal format of the vhd-files in a document. My little tool uses this information, to show the data from these vhd-internals.

VHD Inspector v1.0

For anyone, who also needs such a tool, I have published the exe-file. But, use on your own risk. I do not take any warranty. You need the .NET Framework 2.0 to run this tool.

 http://cid-11b865fe868b1850.skydrive.live.com/embedrow.aspx/%c3%96ffentlich/VHDInspector.exe.zip

